Being Kendra: A Book Review

It’s been a long time since the show “Girls Next Door” was on the air, and now that the story of the playboy mansion has been told, I wasn’t in a huge hurry to read “Being Kendra.”  In fact, had I seen it at a bookstore, I probably would have passed it by for something else.   Kendra has already talked about life in the playboy mansion, and I wasn’t sure any subsequent books would be that interesting.  Still, I loved the “Girls Next Door,” and when I saw Kendra’s book at my local library, I decided to check it out.

I have to say, I liked the book.  Kendra is grounded an understands fully that she owes her success to Hugh Hefner.  She never forgets where she got her start, and sees her time at the playboy mansion as the beginning of her success (unlike delusional Holly Madison who somehow thinks she could have done better without “Girls Next Door”).

Another great thing about Kendra is that she’s genuine.  She knows who she is: a cute blonde entertainer.  She doesn’t use her celebrity  to pretend she’s something she’s not, and doesn’t demand people should take her seriously because of her fame (like fellow former playboy bunny Jenny McCarthy).  For example, she talks about how she and Hank raise their son but is quick to add that new parents have to find their own way.   On the controversial vaccine issue she is quick to say “I’m not a doctor and not qualified to make those decisions.”

It’s a little hard to understand where she does stand on some issues though.  One moment she talks about the elaborate baby proofing she did to her home in LA, then her next paragraph talks about how parents today are over protective.  She also talked about about how much junk food she ate during pregnancy but then turns around and say she wishes everyone in the world ate as healthy as she does.

All in all, I liked the book.  I’m not sure I’m a better person for having read it, but it was fun to spend a little time in Kendra’s world.  She is genuine, grounded, and under no delusions of grandeur like a lot of celebrities these days.

Leave a comment